On 3 May 2021, the Government of the Republic of The Gambia deposited its instrument of accession to the Banjul Protocol on Marks (hereinafter “the Protocol”) with the Director General of the African Regional Intellectual Property Organisation (ARIPO). Parties to the Protocol are Botswana, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Sao Tome and Principe, Swaziland, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zimbabwe, and the most recent addition, the Gambia. The total number of states eligible for designation in an ARIPO trade mark application will now be 12.

The Gambia is an independent republic located on the west coast of Africa. Interestingly the Protocol was adopted by the ARIPO Administrative Council at its capital Banjul on 19 November 1993.

The Gambia may only be designated in an ARIPO trade mark application with effect from 3 August 2021.